AdsCreator

How Much Do Google Ads Cost for Locksmiths? Locksmith Cost Per Click and Cost Per Lead in 2026

Devin Rhodes, Performance·Sep 26, 2026·9 min read
Ad Studio
5 placements / set

Generating ad set

Preparing the studio…

Variant

✓ Resized for every placement in one pass.

Pick a product above or paste your own URL, and we generate the full set on it: copy, an on brand image, and every placement size.

Google Ads for a locksmith cost roughly $12 to $45 per click in 2026 depending on the job, with emergency lockout searches at the top of that range and rekeying and installs at the bottom. The most detailed published breakdown, from an agency that manages locksmith accounts, puts emergency lockout clicks at $25 to $45, residential rekeying and installs at $12 to $22, commercial work at $15 to $28 and car keys at $15 to $30. A widely shared compilation gives a lower national average of $6.20 to $11.00 per click. No independent, multi account benchmark exists for locksmiths, so use those as a planning range and replace them with your own cost per booked job after the first month. Single location shops commonly spend $1,500 to $3,000 a month.

Most pages that answer this question give one number and no sample. Below is every figure worth planning with and what it rests on, why the published numbers disagree by a factor of four, what Google's Advanced Verification rules do to the headlines you are allowed to write, what changes now that call-only ads are being retired, and how to size a budget on booked jobs instead of clicks.

How much does a locksmith pay per click on Google Ads?

It depends almost entirely on the job the keyword describes. The table below is Blue Grid Media's published breakdown for locksmith accounts, read on September 26, 2026. It is the most granular locksmith data that is publicly available, and it comes from one agency's managed portfolio, not from an independent sample.

JobCost per clickClick to lead rateCost per leadTypical ticket
Emergency residential lockout$25 to $459 to 14%$180 to $500$75 to $150
Emergency car lockout$20 to $389 to 13%$155 to $420$75 to $200
Rekey or lock change, residential$12 to $225 to 9%$135 to $440$100 to $300
Smart lock install$10 to $206 to 10%$100 to $335$200 to $450
Car key replacement or fob programming$15 to $305 to 9%$170 to $600$75 to $250, coded keys $400 to $1,500
Commercial rekey or master key system$15 to $284 to 7%$215 to $700$300 to $2,000 and up
Access control and commercial security$18 to $323 to 6%$300 to $1,065$1,500 to $15,000 and up

Two things stand out. Emergency lockouts have the most expensive clicks but the smallest tickets, so they only pay when almost every call turns into a job; the same source reports close rates of 70 to 88 percent on those calls. Commercial and access control work has the lowest conversion rates and the highest lead costs, yet a single master key system can be worth more than a month of lockouts. That is the whole case for splitting a locksmith account by job, which we cover on the locksmith Google Ads page.

Why the published locksmith numbers disagree

If you search for a locksmith cost per click you will find answers from about $6 to $45, and they are not measuring the same thing. Here is what each commonly quoted figure rests on.

FigureWho publishes itWhat it is based on
$25 to $45 per click on emergency lockouts, $12 to $22 on rekeyingBlue Grid Media, an agencyIts own managed contractor accounts; no account count published
$6.20 to $11.00 average per click nationallyWeb Tonic, a compilation published July 24, 2026Secondary; it attributes the figure to Blue Grid Media and another agency, VibeAds
$73 to $110 per search leadWeb TonicSecondary, attributed to VibeAds; no sample published
$18 to $58 per Local Services Ads lead, $32 medianWeb TonicSecondary, attributed to Blue Grid Media and SearchLight Digital; no locksmith sample size given
About $34 per Local Services Ads leadAn independent consultant's post, August 25, 2026Cites the Web Tonic compilation, so it is the same figure repeated
Locksmith row in multi industry benchmarks99 CallsNone: its 27 industry cost per click report and its 25 row Local Services Ads estimator have no locksmith row

So the trail is short. Most locksmith numbers online trace back to two or three agencies describing their own clients, and even one source's page can carry two ranges: Blue Grid Media's summary says a well run emergency campaign lands at $40 to $80 per lead, while its own job table lists $180 to $500. The honest reading is that a lockout lead costs somewhere between $40 and $200 in most markets, and that the difference comes from the account, not the market. Negative keywords, a tight service radius, answered calls and ad copy that looks like a real local business are what separate the two ends.

Do Local Services Ads cost less for locksmiths?

Probably, but nobody publishes a verifiable locksmith sample. The $18 to $58 range and $32 median quoted for locksmith Local Services Ads come from a compilation without a sample size, and the one independent estimator that publishes charged lead prices by trade has no locksmith category. What is verifiable is the entry cost. Google treats locksmith as an urgent category in Local Services Ads, so every locksmith advertiser goes through business, owner and service professional background checks, needs general and professional liability insurance and state business and owner licenses where applicable, and must also pass Advanced Verification. Google says screening takes three to four weeks on average. Once you are listed, a Local Services Ad shows your name, rating and badge, not your creative, so reviews do most of the selling there.

What Google's locksmith ad rules do to your cost per lead

Locksmith is one of two service categories Google restricts in the United States, along with garage door repair. You must pass Advanced Verification before any ad runs, and the policy then limits what your ads can say. Text ads may not include service call fees or minimum or starting prices. Ads that promote emergency or repair service may not include discounts or coupons. Claims of rapid response times that cannot always be guaranteed are banned in text ads and on landing pages. Any warranty or guarantee needs a link to its terms on the same page. Prices shown on the site must include all fees, and a service that varies must show a typical minimum to maximum range.

That matters for cost because several guides that rank for this topic still recommend headlines built on a flat lockout price or a promised arrival window. Those headlines break the policy, and a violation can cost you the verification itself, not just one ad. The headlines that remain allowed, and that still lift click through rate, are proof: your registered business name, your license number where your state requires it (California requires it in every advertisement under Business and Professions Code section 6980.64), the neighborhoods you cover, licensed and insured technicians, brands you are authorized to install and an upfront quote before work starts. Put the price range on the landing page, where the policy allows it and where it filters out price shoppers before they call.

Call-only ads end in February 2027

Google announced on October 3, 2025 that call-only ads are being deprecated. Since February 2026 no new call-only ad can be created, and in February 2027 all existing ones stop receiving impressions. Many locksmith accounts were built on that format. The replacement is a responsive search ad with a call asset: the call button still appears on mobile, but Google assembles the ad from up to 15 headlines of 30 characters and 4 descriptions of 90 characters that you write. Accounts that paste their two old lines into a responsive ad usually get a weak ad strength rating and fewer impressions, which quietly raises cost per lead. Budget a few hours per job type to write real variety, or have a tool write it, before the old ads go dark.

How much should a locksmith spend on Google Ads per month?

Size the budget by operation, then check it against booked jobs. These are Blue Grid Media's published tiers, with the calls it says each should produce.

OperationMonthly budgetExpected calls per month
Solo operator, one city, emergency work only$800 to $1,20015 to 25
Growing operation, one to three vans, emergency plus residential$1,500 to $2,50025 to 50
Competitive metro market$2,500 to $5,000Not stated
Multi service or commercial focus$3,000 to $6,000Not stated

Then do the math on your own numbers. As an illustration using midpoints of the published ranges: a $2,000 month at a blended $22 per click buys about 91 clicks. If 15 percent of those clicks call and 70 percent of calls book, that is about 10 jobs, and at a $175 average ticket about $1,750 in revenue, or roughly $200 per booked job. On lockouts alone that barely breaks even. Add one commercial rekey at $1,000 and the same month is clearly profitable, which is why the commercial and automotive ad groups deserve their own budget even though their leads cost more.

How to lower your cost per booked job

  • Split by job. Lockouts, rekeying, car keys and commercial work each get their own ad group, headlines and landing page, so an expensive lockout click never lands on a rekey page.
  • Answer every call. A missed emergency call is a paid click that goes to the next result. Schedule the call asset for the hours someone answers and send the rest to a form.
  • Keep the radius tight. A lockout 25 minutes away costs the same click as one around the corner and is far more likely to cancel.
  • Collect reviews from every customer. Reviews carry your Local Services Ads listing and your click through rate on search. Google's policy forbids tampering with reviews, so ask everyone, which customer review software can do automatically after each job.
  • Write proof, not promises. Registered name, license number, local address, real photos of your van and technicians. That is what separates you from the lead sellers the policy was written for.

If you want the copy and creative done in one pass, AdsCreator's locksmith ad maker writes the 15 headlines and 4 descriptions per job inside Google's locksmith rules and builds the matching Facebook, Instagram and display images from your brand kit. The Google ad copy generator handles responsive search ad copy on its own, and Google Ads for contractors covers Local Services Ads and the move to Performance Max for service businesses.

Car lockouts sit next to roadside work, so if you partner with a tow operator, what Google Ads cost for towing companies shows the lead prices on that side of the job.

Sources

  • Blue Grid Media, Google Ads for locksmiths, read September 26, 2026.
  • Web Tonic, locksmith Google Ads statistics, published July 24, 2026.
  • 99 Calls, Google Ads CPC by industry, updated September 15, 2026, and Local Services Ads cost estimator, read September 26, 2026.
  • Google Ads Help, Advanced Verification policies, read September 26, 2026.
  • Google Advertising Policies Help, Other restricted businesses: Local services, read September 26, 2026.
  • Google Local Services Help, Business screening and verification requirements, United States, read September 26, 2026.
  • Google Ads Help, Action required: transition from call ads to call assets, October 3, 2025.
  • California Business and Professions Code section 6980.64.

Generate your ad set with AdsCreator.

Paste a product URL or describe what you sell, and get ad copy, on-brand images, and every placement size in one pass, with variants to A/B test. Then export and launch where you already buy ads.

See how it works

Read it, then build your ad set.